Who We Are?


The City of Bovill was named after the Bovills of England. Hugh Bovill was the son of Lord and Lady William Bovill. His wife, Charlotte, was a direct descendent of King Edward III. They had two daughters, Dorothy and Gwen. The Bovills found the wilderness of Idaho fascinating and left their England home to seek greater opportunities in the American West.
The Bovills brought horses and cattle from Nebraska and started a ranch. Their ranching efforts continued until the need for a hotel and resort arose due to an influx of sportsmen, homesteaders and loggers.
The Bovill Hotel was built and operated by the Bovills with the help of a Japanese boy and Swedish workers. The hotel accommodated as many as fifty guests each night. There was an international charm to the atmosphere of early Bovill. As word spread, Bovill became a popular destination of eastern vacationers who wanted to visit the wilderness. Elk Creek, stocked with fish from the state, attracted local area fisherman.
Bovill was incorporated in 1907. Hugh Bovill was the first postmaster and soon thereafter Bovill was the third largest town in Latah County. Today the oldest building in town is still standing, the Bovill Hotel.
The first school is located at Third and Cedar Streets. The opera house, a two story building, still stands. This building was once the place to go to see movies, school programs, graduations, indoor golf, visits from Santa and other activities in town.
Bovill’s original jailhouse has been restored and is located next to the City Hall at 100 Railroad Avenue.
Today Bovill has a population of approximately 300 people, and there are still those vacationers who come to Bovill to enjoy the wilderness and take advantage of seeing the wildlife in this area. There are many activities to keep a person busy, such as fishing, hiking, and picking huckleberries, and seasonal hunting. The surrounding countryside also boasts many trails that are available for sightseeing from your ATV.